What My Auto-ethnographic Experience of Gojira Told Me About Japan

Something dawned on me while writing the last two blog posts, which is that autoethnographic writing is very similar to writing a review except with a little bit more of yourself than an average reviewer would include. Realising this helped me to structure my experience and convey what I had to say in a way that I am somewhat familiar with a create an auto-ethnographic account of my experience with Gojira.

Coming into Gojira I had a rather in depth knowledge of it beforehand which affected what stuck me most about the film. Concentrating rather on the military and context of the film I realised I had an interest in truly trying to understand the mindset of the Japanese people of this time and what went into creating Gojira. Usually I’m not one to concentrate on military situations but what drew me to this was the humanistic aspect of it all. To be honest I could of looked at other stuff through out Gojira that have a humanistic nature but this was the most glaringly interesting and felt that I wanted to know more which from my understanding is what autoethnography is all about.

Writing about this helped me realise what the value of absorbing and analysing texts from different cultural perspectives is worth and kind of consolidated my ideas of trying to understand what other people have gone through. Gojira speaks about the nature of cultural interaction and a grand scale, within the context of the film and out of. It is ultimately very interesting that something so small can be related something so large and that films aren’t merely a production for entertainment but rather a learning tool that can be used to convey a greater sense of understanding, which I believe what I have gotten out of my ethnographic experience with Gojira.

Leave a Reply

